Ellyse Lindley

 

Age: 20 | Height: 5’9″
Hometown: Prince Rupert, BC

 

Ellysse Lindley, a Miss Teen Canada World 2010 Finalist, Miss Teen Skeena-Bulkley Valley World 2010 and currently a third year pre-med student at the University of Victoria, is from Prince Rupert, British Columbia “The City of Rainbows” and “Halibut Capital of the World.”

Ellysse is a proud member of the University of Victoria Dance Company in addition to being an award winning competitive dancer of fifteen years earning two time provincial candidate representative of the Pacific Northwest Coast.

Her dance choreography was recently featured at the “University of Victoria Dance Gala.” Ellysse also sings classically as a coloratura soprano. She has received many scholarships for academic achievement and is using her knowledge of physics to tutor first year Kinesiology and Astronomy students.

Ellysse is the daughter of a brave cancer survivor, her mother, who has given her great strength and focus.  Her father, the local dental surgeon, has inspired her for integrity and dedication. She supports Doctors Without Borders and The Smile Train. 

Both charities help millions of very poor children in developing countries who are suffering from cleft palate and other intra oral deformities.  She also volunteers for The BC Cancer Foundation events and through her sorority, Kappa Beta Gamma, volunteers and fund raises for their philanthropy The Special Olympics.

Ellysse loves the outdoors, is an avid skier, enjoys tennis and when her studies permit golfs with her brother.  She is a strong believer in a healthy active lifestyle and enjoys jogging and can often be found working out at the local gym. Ellysse enjoys travelling and meeting new people.  She works hard at keeping up with current issues on a global and local level.  Every morning you can find her with a “Wake Up Smoothie” watching the morning news while skimming the local newspaper online.

Ellysse is combining her artistic talents with her academic abilities to fulfill her life goal of becoming a plastic surgeon devoted to helping children with burns and cleft palate deformities.

Sponsored by: Family and Friends.

 

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language). 

English. Currently I am studying Latin at the University of Victoria and hope to one day be fluent in Spanish.

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

Most definitely dance.  It is my soul, my passion and what I love to do. My other interests encompass a variety of areas – history of art and visiting art galleries and museums; fashion and anything associated with fashion; and charity work.   

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.) 

I am currently a proud member of the University of Victoria Dance Company in addition to being an award winning competitive dance of fifteen years earning two time provincial candidate representative of the Pacific Northwest Coast. I have my Canadian Dance Teachers Association Gold Star with Honors which allows me to teach dance.  I also hold my Royal Canadian Ballet Association Pre-Profession Level Certification.  I have been a featured cast member in high school musicals and have choreographed dance numbers for each.  I studied voice under Ms. B. Lefevre and sing classically as a coloratura soprano.  I also hold my Occupational First Aid Ticket Level 3 which allows me to be the first aid attendant on job sites.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

I love the outdoors.  I am an avid downhill skier, I enjoy jogging along the awesome trails in Victoria and through the University of Victoria campus; and I play tennis and golf when time permits.  My passion is dance – ballet, jazz, lyrical, hip hop, modern, contemporary – as often as I can.  And I frequent the student gym every day – aerobics and weight training.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

Most definitely Coco Chanel.  She had a saying she believed in and lived by “to achieve great things we must first dream.”  My dream is to be a reconstructive surgeon devoted to helping children with burns, facial deformities and other maladies. 

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

My proudest personal accomplishment is being a female student at a top ranked “Ivy League University”, The University of Victoria, studying biochemistry in a male dominated degree.  I want women of all ages and backgrounds to know that if they study and hard they can reach their goals.   

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

The most interesting and unique quality I possess is my open and adventurous personality. I am always eager to try new experiences; meet and get to know new people; and learn more about myself in order to continue to grow as a person. I believe that life is a journey and we should take every opportunity to expand our horizons and to use our knowledge and experience to make the world a better place for all who cross our path.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

My career ambition is to be a reconstructive surgeon devoted to helping children with burns and other deformities.  I am currently in pre-med at the University of Victoria working towards a Bachelor of Science degree majoring in biochemistry.  After I degree I will apply for medical school and study towards becoming a reconstructive surgeon.   

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My “dream job” in life is to work in the fashion industry as a stylist or a designer like Coco Chanel. 

Are you currently a student?

Yes, education is so important in today’s world and I will always be a student.  Learning is a lifestyle and should be incorporated into your everyday life.

If yes, where?

The University of Victoria located in Victoria, British Columbia.

Area of study:

Biochemistry – which is dominated by men – and I am so proud to be a female in an area which needs more females.

Are you currently employed?

From September to April I am a full time student at the University of Victoria pursuing a Bachelor of Science degree in biochemistry.  During the summers I work and this summer I hope to work as a first aid attendant utilizing my Occupational First Aid Level 3 ticket.

If yes, what is your occupation?

I spent my summer before entering university working in a fish cannery and can clean, gut and fillet fish, full shift, day or night.  During my first year of university I worked for the University of Victoria Vike’s Event Staff helping to coordinate sporting events. This past summer I worked in a nightclub as a server.     

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I was born and raised in Prince Rupert, British Columbia.  Prince Rupert is located on the Pacific Coast in northern British Columbia.  My childhood was pretty great.  I lived next door to my best friend from the age 5 until graduation from Grade 12.  We were always together and moved seamlessly between her household and mine.  It was like having two families – two moms – two dads – lots and lots of pesky brothers.    Growing up in a small town I always had a sense of security and everybody knew everyone.  Which was great until my teen years.  Being a teen in a small town can be compared to being watched 24/7.  Imagine being trapped in an episode of Person of Interest and being the person under surveillance.  And as a teen you don’t need your parent’s friends phoning home to inform mom and dad that you were last seen planking the McDonald’s sign at 1am on a Friday night.  My “crew of girls” were all competitive dancers and we danced everyday and spent the spring travelling to competitions.  Dance was the center of my universe and my life.  I miss Prince Rupert and I miss my friends but I visit them as often as I can on Skype.    

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

I guess the most unusual job I had was working in the fish cannery in the roe room.  My boss was a Japanese gentleman from Japan who taught us how to discern a quality salmon egg from one that would not be used in sushi.  

List any volunteering you have done.

I have supported and fund raised for Doctors Without Borders and the Smile Train.  I have also supported and donated my time fund raising for One Life to Live a charity dedicated to HIV/Aids.  In addition I actively support the Special Olympics.  Additionally I volunteer my time supporting events and fund raising for local charities in Victoria including Women Against Violence, the Salvation Army, Pink for Life (Breast Cancer) and Trick or Eat.  I firmly believe in the power of volunteerism and believe in helping any way I can.

What is your most unusual talent?

My most unusual talent is as a coloratura soprano I can sing high notes with such intensity that I can cause crystal glasses to vibrate and break.

Where is the most interesting place you have been?

I, like my dad, have a passion for the history of art and architecture especially ancient ruins.  I would have to say the most interesting place I have been is the Mayan ruins of Chitcininiza outside of Cancun, Mexico. 

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

Most definitely travelling the world volunteering my time as a reconstructive surgeon with organizations such as Doctors Without Borders, The Smile Train, and the Red Cross.     

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

If crowned Miss Universe Canada, I would use my title to bring awareness to the plight of children worldwide and especially in Africa.  And to encourage people to support SOS Children’s Villages and Doctors Without Borders, the Smile Train and the Red Cross.  Also as a daughter of a brave breast cancer survivor, my mother, to encourage everyone to support the “Race for a Cure.”

FacebookTwitter