Carly Matossi

Age: 19 | Height: 5’3″
Hometown: Victoria, BC

Carly Matossi was born on June 1, 1993 in Vancouver, BC.  At the age of 3, she took her very first ballet class.  Her debut performance was at a senior’s home.  Her inspiring smile and graceful presence brought joy to her audience.

Of course, Carly was unaware at that moment that this would become her passion.   Over the next 15 years, she would continue to perform both in competitions and for charitable causes.

At 17, Carly moved to Victoria, BC.  While attending her final year of high school, she started volunteering at “Our Place”, a non-profit organization which provides food, clothing, and friendship to Victoria’s most vulnerable.

  “I am rewarded so greatly by the appreciation given to me from the patrons at Our Place.  I feel that my time there is more valuable than at my jobs.”

Carly has had the good fortune to travel to various parts of the world, including, France, Mexico, Italy and both coasts of Canada and the United States.  Her understanding of the diversities in cultures has opened her heart to kindness and compassion.

“The world has a story to tell me and I want to listen and give back to it”.  It is Carly’s educational goal to obtain her Bachelor of Arts, majoring in Psychology.

She has begun to learn the teachings of Buddha which is very important part of her life.  It is her personal goal to travel to Asia and expand on her spirituality by way of volunteer work.  Besides dance and travel, Carly enjoys a simple yet healthy lifestyle.  She believes in supporting her local community by eating local food and buying local products.   “If we can’t buy local due to season changes or other factors, I am an advocate for fair trade for fair wages.”

“If I could wish for one thing in my lifetime, it would be to see all countries have the same opportunities that we have in Canada.  I am proud to be Canadian.”

Sponsored by: Indigo Apparel Inc., Baba & Coo Productions Ltd., Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language). 


What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

Dance, yoga, hiking, travelling.  I enjoy learning about different cultures, religions, history and visiting different parts of the world.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

Classical ballet, tap, jazz and contemporary dance.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?


Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

My grandfather.   He took great care of my grandmother during her life long illness.  He lost her recently and has adjusted to his new life by being very involved in his children and grandchildren’s life.  He has shown me that we can always be positive and treat others with love and kindness even when things seem to be against us.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

In my early teens, I was subjected to bullying in school.  After changing schools and moving to a new community, I worked hard to bring back my confidence by continuing with my dance and volunteering at “Our Place”, by helping others in need.  I am proud that I was able to make these changes in my life and graduate from high school.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

My brother and I were raised by a stay at home father and a working mother.  Our family adapted to this unique circumstance by supporting each other with understanding.  It had many challenges but also many advantages that have stayed with me.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

My goal is to work towards an arts degree and further my education in the field of Psychology.   My career ambition is to use my life experience and education to counsel others in difficult situations.  I would like to do this in Canada and around the world.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job would involve a career that I love in balance with raising a happy family.  I am looking forward to achieving that dream.

Are you currently a student?  

Not at the moment.

Are you currently employed?  


If yes, what is your occupation?  

I am working 2 part time jobs at the moment, so that I can save money to commence post secondary in the fall.

I work at Keg Steakhouse in Victoria as a busser.

I work at Indigo Apparel in Victoria as a sales associate.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.  

Up to the age of 17, I was raised in Port Moody, BC.  My childhood was interesting as I was raised by a stay home father.  My mother works in the film industry and provided us with a very good life.  I was able to enjoy my love of dance and as a family we travelled a lot.  I also developed a very close relationship with both of my parents in a very different way.  I have an older brother who also feels our unique circumstance has made us adaptable to any situation.  It was a happy childhood.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had. 

I worked as an extra in films such as Free Willy 3, Wrongfully Accused, Twilight, and Antitrust.

List any volunteering you have done.

I have been volunteering at “Our Place” in Victoria for the last 2 years.  I work in the dining room.  Our Place provides food and clothing to Victoria’s homeless population.

What is your most unusual talent?

My wisdom.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

Mexico City.  I enjoyed the people, the food, the history and the ancient ruins.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years? 

In ten years, I hope to be in a place where I can continue to travel and still maintain a stable life here in Canada.  I hope to be finished my education and settled into a job that I love.  I am open to all opportunities.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

I am still very young and this pageant represents a lot for me in the form of change and growth.  I am excited to be a part of it and look forward to the new chapter in my life, post Miss Universe, Canada.