Carmen Paz

Carmen-Paz-copyAge: 25 | Height: 5’7″
Hometown: Ottawa, ON

Carmen is Mexican born, but Canadian at heart. She lived in Mexico till the age of fourteen, after which she moved to Canada with her mother.

Carmen’s parents made favoured the move due to the unsafe environment and surroundings in Mexico. Her parents, for instance, were both held hostage, assaulted, and threatened on several occasions.

Carmen, reluctant to move at first, planned to come to Canada for a few years and learn the English language, and then return to Mexico to continue her studies. Once here, she fell in love with the Canadian way of life and its cultural mosaic.

Distance took its toll on Carmen and her family, and resulted in Carmen’s parents’ separation. Still, they maintain a healthy and communicative relationship to this day, and they all talk on daily basis either over the phone or email.

Carmen will be accomplishing some of her short term goals soon, including graduating this summer with a 4 Year Bachelors of Arts degree with a double Minor in Business Administration and Communications from the University of Ottawa.

Her post-graduation plans include starting her career as an Accountant or a Communications Coordinator. These jobs will be the means towards achieving one of Carmen’s long term goals, namely, owning her own boutique, where she can sell clothes designed by her.

Carmen’s schedule consists of going to school every day and working part time during the weekends. Carmen also enjoys spending time with her loved ones, volunteering, working out, or being artistic.

Since coming to Canada ten years ago she has done community volunteering for a total of seven years, and continues to do so twice a week. This is one of the reasons why she would like to win the MUC 2013 title and potentially the MU 2013. She plans to make positive use of these advantageous public platforms to transmit to others the same will and principles that drive her, and inspire her to want to help others; she believes any person can make a difference towards the betterment of our society one day at a time.

Sponsored by: Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

English and Spanish.

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

I am interested in two disjoint, yet parallel, subjects: Art and Science. I enjoy many forms of visual arts such as Painting, Photography, Sculpting, and Music. I also enjoy the commercial side of art, specifically, Fashion and Clothing Design.

I am fascinated by scientific discoveries, whether these relate to humanity’s past, present, or future. New-found disciplines of science that continually improve life in general, be them technological or medical, always inspire me and leave me in awe.

What I enjoy doing most is listening to music that triggers either my creative side, or analytical side. I am frequently inspired to work on my paintings or clothing lines, or read and study because of a song or melody.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.) 

-  Accounting; PR; Marketing; Advertising; Audience Segmentation; Qualitative/Quantitative Research – University of Ottawa (Ottawa, Canada).
-  Sustainable Development – University of Ottawa (Ottawa, Canada)
-  French – University of Ottawa (Ottawa, Canada).
-  Fashion Design – Istituto Marangoni (Milan, Italy); Richard Robinson Academy of Fashion (Ottawa, Canada); Olds College (Calgary, Canada).
-  Painting and Sculpting – Universidad Lasallista Benavente (Celaya, Mexico); Ashbury College Highschool (Ottawa, Canada).
-  Health and Safety Training (Seniors and Children) – Volunteering Pre-requisite (Ottawa, Canada).
-  Tactical Communication (Ottawa, Canada).

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

Golf; Soccer; Rugby; Basketball; Horseback Riding; and Motocross.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

My cousin Carlos Arias from my father’s side of the family. Carlos and I only became close once I left Mexico. Then, out of nowhere Carlos invited himself to Canada for a visit; and I am thankful that he did. In the summer of 2009, my cousin stayed in Ottawa (my hometown) for three months and we became best friends. Carlos is truly an inspiring human being because his family has gone through all sorts of adversities ranging from financial to health misfortunes and yet his positive outlook on life never changed. He has all the qualities that I cherish the most: compassion, loyalty, reliability, and intelligence. There was not one problem I would share with him that he did not have a solution for, or a comforting speech to offer me. I trust him blindly, and I can only wish to raise my own children to be as close as possible to the person that Carlos is.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

My proudest personal accomplishment was to master the English language to the extent where I could fully understand others, and express myself. This was very important to me because throughout high school, and my teenage years (being a newcomer to Canada) I struggled to adapt and immerse due to communication barriers. And I was eager to mesh with everyone here, especially because I could not get enough of the many existing, cultures, traditions, and delicious dishes Canada had to offer (asides my dear Mexican ones).

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you? 

I have been very fortunate to have travelled to many different locations both within Canada and the world. As such, the most interesting thing that happened to me is summarized in my passport. It’s the multitude of trips to places like the United States, Sweden, Italy, France, England, Jordan, Cuba, Colombia, Panama, Canada, and Mexico.

The most interesting thing about me is my laugh, which I have been told to be highly contagious. I have witnessed people who start laughing after they hear me laugh, even though they do not know what I am laughing about.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal? 

My career goal is to start my own business: a clothing store showcasing my own designs. I plan to use my university degrees to first launch a career that will enable me to pay my school debt, build a credit, and contribute towards my savings accounts. After taking care of those priorities, then, I will pursue my dream.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job would be having a job that I absolutely love doing every day, and that will pay me enough to sustain a comfortable life for my loved ones and for myself. That is being a fashion designer.

Are you currently a student?


If yes, where?

I am a fourth year student at the University of Ottawa.

Area of study:

Communications, and Business Administration.

Are you currently employed?


If yes, what is your occupation?

I work part time bartending at Real Sports, Ottawa.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like. 

Born and raised in Mexico, I believe to have had both a privileged and a hard childhood. Privileged in the sense that I had very loving and hardworking parents who provided me with the best education and best living conditions any child could ask for.

Hard, because as an only child, and a female living in Mexico, I was frequently in harm’s way; my father had a high position in the government, and so did my mother with a private company. At work, both my parents were held hostage, and assaulted on several occasions, and threaten with the possibility of me being kidnapped. For this reason, my mother decided to bring me to Canada where she secured employment at the Mexican Embassy. The distance took a toll in my parents’ marriage; but they always reminded me how happy they are to see the strong, independent and hard working woman that I have become.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had. 

The types of jobs that I have had, range from: being a food counter attendant, to making sandwiches, to retail, to hosting, and serving or bartending, to doing secretarial work; I am thankful to everyone who gave me chance to work for them.

I believe all these jobs have been both interesting and helpful because they helped (and continue to) pay for my living expenses, my school, art tools, etc; and each job has taught me the importance of punctuality, and time management. As well as the importance of budgeting and prioritizing.

List any volunteering you have done.

-  Big Brother Big Sister, Ottawa, Ontario (2012 – Present).
-  Glebe Community Centre, Ottawa, Ontario (2012 – Present).
-  City of Ottawa, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada (2011).
-  Discover Ottawa Fundraising Fashion Show, Ottawa, Ontario (2006).
-  Youth Day of Caring/YDOC, Ottawa, Ontario (2004).
-  Ashbury College Highschool, Ottawa, Ontario (2003-2005).

What is your most unusual talent?

Perhaps not the most unusual talent, but certainly an enjoyable one that I practice frequently is fashion design.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

The Dead Sea, Jordan where I had the chance to swim in the fabled Dead Sea, which happens to be the lowest spot on earth, at approximately 400 meters below sea level.

The sight of the Dead Sea is breathtakingly beautiful, and the way the water feels on the skin, is unforgettable. The water, due to very high density of the salt water, feels as if you are swimming in liquid soap.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years? 

In ten years, at this hour (approximately 10 am), I should be on my way to work since I had just dropped off my 4 year old in preschool. While I am driving, I will probably be going over (mentally) my day-checklist e.g. what I will be cooking for dinner for my family, what my errands for the day are, buying food for my dogs, and booking that hair appointment to look great for my husband, etc. All this means that I am immensely happy. 

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

How I am hoping to make a difference in whoever is interested in hearing me out or watching me thanks to the Miss Universe Canada platform. If I win the title, I plan to positively influence others by sharing my story, and the principles I have lived by up until this day. Many of which, I feel, have made me a good citizen of two countries, and helped me develop a solid moral compass.

Through this advantageous public platform, I can hopefully transmit to others the same will that drives me to be the best role model I can be. Indeed, I would like to awaken interest in people to want to help each other through community volunteering, or by participating (even from home) in environmentally friendly causes. All these causes have an immediate chain reaction if we can commit, and be kind, and be patient. Indeed, any person can genuinely make a difference towards the betterment of our world.