Courtney Woodford


20 | Height: 5’6″

Hometown: Triton, NL

Courtney Woodford is 20 years old and originates from Triton, Newfoundland and Labrador. She is currently in her third year at Memorial University School of Music, where she is working toward a Bachelor of Music with a concentration in Voice Performance.

As part of Courtney’s studies, She is a member of the Memorial University Chamber Choir, and also covered the role of Despina in the MUN School of Music’s Opera production of Mozart’s Cosi Fan Tutte.

Courtney enjoys staying physically active. During her high school years, she competed on her high school’s sports teams which went on to win regional and provincial championships.

Although Courtney enjoys most sports, her main passion was badminton where she competed at the Provincial and Atlantic levels. She still plays badminton today, but mostly for fun and to stay active.

During the summer months, Courtney works as a counselor and assistant program director at The Salvation Army Twin Ponds Camp.

Helping to plan and create a fun and memorable summer program for children. She also volunteers with The Salvation Army at the local level, and participated in urban mission trips.

Courtney is also member of a youth justice league called Just Youth. Through this group, she promotes social justice, and the fair treatment of every human being.

In the future, Courtney hopes that she will become a music teacher, and will be able to share her love of music with others.

Sponsored by: Budgell’s Equipment and Rentals, Woodford’s Ltd., Hamilton Sound Credit Union, Town of Triton, Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language). 


What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

Some of my interests include playing the guitar, piano, and singing, fishing, and snowmobiling. But what I enjoy doing the most is spending time at the cabin with my grandparents.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.) 

- Piano lessons
- Completed the Royal Canadian Sea Cadet program with highest cadet ranking.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

During High School, I competed on our Badminton, Volleyball, ball Hockey, table tennis, and softball teams, competing at the provincial level. I have captained the Softball and Badminton teams. Also, I have competed at the Atlantic level with badminton, and I still continue to play recreationally.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

Four years ago I met an incredible woman named Heidi Adams. She is so driven to accomplish her goals, and she treats every single person she meets as if they are the most important person in the world. She is also a strong advocate for social justice, and for supporting the fair trade movement. She inspires me to chase after my dreams, and to really think about how I treat other people, and hopefully I can do the same for others.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)? 

One of my proudest personal accomplishments was auditioning and being accepted into the Memorial University School of Music Performance Program.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you? 

One of the most interesting things that has ever happened to me was being chosen as one of 20 delegates from Canada to go to Sweden for a World Youth Convention. There were delegates from 120 countries, and seeing all these people together was definitely a unique experience.

One of the most interesting things about me is that I can sing in different languages, but I can’t speak them fluently!

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal? 

I am not fully decided as to what I want  my career to be, However, I do know that I want it to involve music, whether that is teaching music or performing it.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job would be to travel and perform my music all over the world.

Are you currently a student?

If yes, where? 

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Area of study: 

Bachelor of Music Performance (voice)

Are you currently employed?

I am not employed year-round as I am a student, However I do work in the summer.

If yes, what is your occupation?

In the past 4 summers I have worked as a counselor and assistant program director at The Salvation Army Twin Ponds Camp.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like. 

I grew up in Triton, a small outport community in Newfoundland. Growing up in a small community, you get to know everyone around you. It was a friendly, and safe place to grow up. My parents encouraged me to become involved in community activities and in music at a very young age, and so I grew up participating, and singing in community events, church activities, and sports.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had. 

I haven’t had any unusual jobs, but I have had to do some pretty interesting things while working at summer camp. From hiding in trees for games to getting a bucket of tomato paste thrown over me at kangaroo court, it’s all about making great memories for the kids.

List any volunteering you have done.

Volunteering with The Salvation Army.

Performing for community events, and events across the province.

What is your most unusual talent?

I have just recently learned how to crochet.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

The most interesting place I have been would have to be Stockholm, Sweden.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years? 

I’m not really sure where I will be in ten years, but wherever I am, the most I hope is that I will have achieved some of my goals, and that I will be happy and content.