Jaymie Hancock

19 | Height: 5’5″
Hometown: Sudbury, ON

Jaymie Hancock is a proud born and raised Northern Ontario resident. She a 2nd year Nursing student at Laurentian University who is very passionate about her field of study and strives to be the best student she can possibly be in order to optimize her learning.

Jaymie aspires to take her career in Nursing to new levels with hopes of continuing her studies in the field of Midwifery and becoming a Registered Nurse-Midwife. She hopes to stay in Northern Ontario and base her practice in her community however also find time to travel and provide health care to the less fortunate and those who lack health care resources.

As an avid volunteer in her community, Jaymie has volunteered as a camp counselor for five consecutive years. Through her experiences as a volunteer at the camp, she has gained a sense of what true responsibility entails, as her role required maturity, leadership, confidence and problem solving skills.

This role enabled Jaymie to feel confident as ever in her abilities to be a good leader and role model. In the summer of 2012, Jaymie lead the Leader in Training the program the camp offers where she was responsible for helping the girls in the program develop various leadership skills.

She believes that women should be empowered at a young age so that their full potential can be recognized and optimized and she hopes that through this program she is able to instill confidence in many young women. She also has plans of taking the reins on the LIT program once again in the summer of 2013.

Jaymie loves spending her time with her family and friends, volunteering in her community, learning, reading, and engaging in many outdoor activities such as kayaking, canoeing, swimming, fishing, snowboarding and cross-country skiing. She believes that living in such a versatile country that provides her with all four seasons should be optimized and appreciated whenever possible.

Jaymie is ambitious and motivated in every aspect of her life. She always strives to be the best she can be and keep her morals close to her heart at all times by staying true to herself and those around her. She strongly believes that hard work pays off and that anything you set your mind to can be accomplished.

Sponsored by: The Car Lot Etc., Alstart Starter & Alternator, Sudbury Wolves Community Club, City Duct Cleaning, Pluckers Winghouse, Nordic Bearings, Hot Start, Quesnel Distributing, Expressions, Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

English, French

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

My interests include attending university and working towards becoming a Registered Nurse. What I enjoy doing most is spending time with my family and close friends and I especially enjoy spending this time at my home where I can embrace the beauty of the resources that surround my living area. I am very fortunate to live on a lake in a more remote area of Northern Ontario as no matter where I look I am surrounded by the natural beauty of our earths resources. Whether it is Summer or Winter, I love engaging in outdoor activities! The activities that I enjoy most include canoeing, kayaking, swimming, ice fishing, snowmobiling, cross-country skiing, snowboarding and snowshoeing.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.) 

I was a dancer for 13 years performing in recitals and competing in competitions

I am certified in CPR and First Aid

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

Volleyball, Flag Football, Softball, Hockey, Cross Country Skiing, Downhill Skiing and Snowboarding

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

I have not one but two people who have had the most influence on my life. These two women share the same title of Grandmothers and they have both influenced my life in very powerful and lasting ways. I believe my poise and confidence was greatly influenced by my Grandma as she is the most confident and elegant woman I’ve ever known. My Nanny on the other hand has influenced my life in reminding me to always work my hardest in everything I engage in and I know I get my good work habits from her. She is one of the hardest working women I’ve ever known. I would describe my grandmothers as two of the strongest women I’ve ever encountered and I am glad I can identify and appreciate the positive influences they have embedded in my life.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)? 

My university career to date is my proudest personal accomplishment. Throughout my life my family consistently reminded me of the importance of education and obtaining a post-secondary education specifically. I come from a family of business owners who have no post-secondary education whatsoever but who never gave up on guiding me in appreciating education and learning to my full potential. Not only was getting into university a proud moment for myself, it was also a very proud moment for my entire family. I am the first in my family to have any post-secondary education and even received a grant in my first year of studies for being the first generation of my family to attend university.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you? 

I model my teeth for a whitening company, my smile is on pamphlets in dental offices. The most interesting part is that I have never had braces, my smile is all natural!

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal? 

I hope to one day be a Registered Nurse-Midwife and then move on to become a Nurse Practitioner. So far I am halfway done my Nursing Degree and hope to graduate half a year early in order to start my Midwifery degree. I strive to excel in my studies and in optimizing any learning opportunities that may present themselves. In 2012 I volunteered as the Camp Nurse at a summer camp which enabled me to use critical thinking skills in situations that presented with less resources than I was use to having access to when caring for people. I hope to continue to expand my experience and expertise in the health care field as I continue my studies.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

In the future my dream job would be to be a Nurse Practitioner with my own practice. In the more near future however, the title of Miss Universe Canada would be the very definition of my “dream job” as I strongly believe it would further empower me to expand my potential on a personal and societal level and also enable me to bring my passion for helping others above and beyond many limits.

Are you currently a student?


If yes, where? 

Area of study:

Laurentian University, Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Are you currently employed?


If yes, what is your occupation?

I am an Independent Jewelry Stylist, selling jewelry and hosting home shows.

I am also a Server at a local reception hall.

In the summer I also work as a Playground Supervisor for the City of Greater Sudbury.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.  

I was raised in Northern Ontario, in the city of Greater Sudbury. I have lived on the same street my entire life therefore my childhood memories still remain near and dear to my heart. I am the eldest of two children in my family and although my brother is 3 years younger than me, we have always had a close relationship. My brother and I were always outside soaking in the fresh air and sunlight along with our neighborhood friends on any given day. In elementary and secondary school I was consistently involved in many extracurricular activities including school sports teams and after school clubs such as student council. My childhood was everything a child could have wished for and more and I am so thankful for the love and support I consistently received from my family. My parents were always supportive and encouraging in every new hobby I engaged in and always encouraged my brother and I to believe in our dreams and that anything we set our minds to could be accomplished. I strongly believe my childhood has shaped who I am today and I am very grateful for every journey I embarked on.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had. 

I am a standardized patient for the Northern Ontario School of Medicine where I act out patient scenarios in medical school student testing. I have played many different roles of female patients of various ages with a wide range of health concerns.

List any volunteering you have done.

2013 Operation Smile

2013 Look Good Feel Better

2012 Northern Ontario Families of Children with Cancer

2009 Relay for Life

2007-2011 Various high school sporting events

2007-Present Camp Manitou

What is your most unusual talent?

I can bend my fingers in very weird ways – it makes many people cringe.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

The two most interesting places I have been include the Island of Capri in Italy and the small community of Delphi in Greece. These two places were similar as they were very small communities full of life and surrounded by extraordinary scenery. I was breathless walking through the streets of both of these locations and to this day the experience still seems surreal! These two regions remind me that beauty can be found in so many places around the world that I can only hope to explore.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years? 

Although life changes very quickly, in ten years I hope to be practicing in my chosen career in health care – either as a Registered Nurse-Midwife or as a Nurse Practitioner. I also hope to be continuing to expand my education in these fields by staying up to date with current skills and research in health care practice. I hope to have established a family and my own residence of living. In my family life I hope to be a loving wife, and to be the kind of parent to my children that my parents consistently are to me – a supporter, a giver, a nurturer and a biggest fan.