Kathryn Kohut

22 | Height: 5’6″
Hometown: Wetaskiwin, AB

Kathryn was born in Edmonton Alberta, and raised in the small city of Wetaskiwin.

With her grandfather first teaching her to downhill ski at the age of 5, she has always loved sports and trying new things. Active all through her school years, she participated on most school sports teams.  Kathryn became serious about long distance running and began training with well known running coach Wally Strang at a young age.

After moving to Saskatchewan and graduating with honours and a scholarship, Kathryn decided to brave the cold and move to Fort McMurray.  She is currently working as a full time training coordinator for a pipeline company, and is working her way up to achieving her Occupational Health and Safety degree.

Kathryn has a strong love and passion for her family and friends, animals and sports. She loves a challenge, loves to laugh and has a great sense of humour. One of her favourite quotes by Jackson Brown Jr. is “In the confrontation between the stream and the rock, the stream always wins, not through strength but by perseverance.” It reminds her to never give up when times get tough. She is a generous young woman who believes that having motivation, commitment and perseverance is essential to achieving ones goals.

One of Kathryn’s goals is to bring more awareness to bullying and suicide prevention. These are issues that are close to her heart.

Sponsored by: Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language). 


What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

I am a very spontaneous and adventurous person! There are so many things that interest me.  I love being active and I am a bit of an adrenalin junkie. I’ve been cliff jumping and bungee jumping (sky diving is next on my list!). I love running, and just recently won two 5km races in my division while in Mexico for modeling. I also enjoy  horseback riding, camping, fishing, hiking, dirt biking, wake boarding, kick boxing, snowboarding…. all sports really. I am an all seasons sports fanatic! I like to challenge myself. I believe that life begins outside of your comfort zone. I love reading. Mystery and crime novels are my favourite, but of course I love a good romance novel here and there too. I also have a strong love and passion for animals and I love challenging my friends, or even strangers, to games of chess!

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.) 

I’ve had the privilege of training with well known running coach, Wally Strang, as well as some training with the Grant MacEwan University running team for long distance running.

Completed all of my safety courses through the ACSA (Alberta Construction Safety Association)

First Aid and Lifeguard training.

I have also had training in horseback riding, basketball, cosmetology, drama, dance, gymnastics, and piano.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

Cross country running, track and field, basketball, volleyball, badminton, horseback riding,  swimming, dance and gymnastics.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

Someone who had been a huge part of my life, and helped shape me into the person I am today, was Jake. He was my first love. He passed away suddenly just last June. I don’t believe I will ever meet a person like him again. He taught me the importance of surrounding myself with positive people. He was always helping out wherever he could, whether it was a loved one or even a complete stranger. He worked hard at everything he did. He had a big heart. He loved life and lived it to the fullest.  I strive to have and keep those qualities in my life. I could write a novel on all of the things he was, the amazing things he did and all of the things he taught me. There were over two thousand people at his funeral, as he had a huge impact on many lives. I also hope to have such a positive effect on the lives of others. He taught me to love fearlessly, and he continues to have an influence on my life.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)? 

After going through a really difficult time during high school, I learned just how determined and focused I can be. After having moved to Calgary for a while and missing a few semesters of school, I knew I needed to make a change. My parents helped me to see that a move to Saskatchewan, where my grandparents lived, would be the best place for me to accomplish my goals of graduating, and going to University. It was going to be a huge challenge to graduate at the same time as my original class. With doubled up classes, correspondence and summer school, I finished the rest of grade 11 and completed grade 12 in just 6 months. I am proud to say that not only did I graduate on time, but I graduated with Honours and a Scholarship. Although I had already chosen a different path, I was also accepted into the University of Regina that same year.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you? 

I think that the most interesting thing about me is just simply my story. My age surprises most people and I get told often that I seem older than I really am. I have been through a lot of difficult experiences and heartbreak at a young age, and it has taught me a lot – very fast. Even though those times were difficult, I am thankful for them because it made me who I am today; A strong, caring and independent young woman.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal? 

I am very happy in the area of work that I am involved in now and I plan on furthering my education within safety/construction. I am passionate about what I do! I plan on achieving my degree in Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) and moving on to becoming a full time safety advisor. I am very supportive of the trades, and am also interested in going back to achieve my welding ticket!

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job would be one that has a positive impact on other people and would still allow me to have a family of my own…  Being an actress would be nice too!

Are you currently a student?

No, I am not currently a student.

Are you currently employed?

Yes, I am currently employed.

If yes, what is your occupation?

I am a training coordinator for a pipeline company in the heart of the Oil Sands, Fort McMurray. I have also been working in the Safety Department for some time now and am soon hoping to become a full time safety advisor.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like. 

I was born in Edmonton, Alberta, but spent most of my childhood growing up in the small city of Wetaskiwin. I did not have the “ideal” childhood but I was a happy child, and my family was very supportive growing up.  I was  also fortunate to become very close with my grandparents. As I grew older I was bullied a lot in school and actually home schooled for grades 7 and 8. I made some amazing friends through home schooling though and I worked hard at building my confidence back up.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had. 

I worked as a welder’s apprentice the first year that I lived in Fort McMurray. This may not be an unusual job in itself but I think it’s a more  uncommon or unusual job for a woman. (It was a blast too!) A great thing I might add about working in Fort McMurray is that I get to meet people from all over Canada. Despite the cold temperatures, Fort McMurray is a diverse melting pot of hardworking individuals, with an interesting variety of culture!

List any volunteering you have done.

Modeling in Charity Fashion Shows

Wetaskiwin Animal Clinic

Canvassing for the Heart and Stroke Foundation

What is your most unusual talent?

I can put foods together that you might think would be a terrible combination, but somehow the result tastes great!! I am extremely creative with food.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

I have been to a few different countries around the world (Jamaica, the Bahamas, Mexico and the USA) but to me, I don’t have to go very far to see the most interesting place. The Canadian Rocky Mountains. Everything about them is beautiful and interesting.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years? 

In 10 years time I hope to be successful in my career and following my dreams. Life is too short not to go for everything you want to achieve. I also hope to be married and have a family of my own, where I could be a loving wife and mother.

Is there anything you would like to add that we havent asked?

I am honoured to be a part of Miss Universe Canada 2013. I respect the opportunity this pageant offers to young women, in helping them become leaders in today’s society.