Lara  Mackenzie

Lara-MackenzieAge: 22 | Height: 5’5″
Hometown: Knowlton, QC

Lara was raised in the charming village of Knowlton in Quebec’s Eastern Townships where she learned the value of family and friendship. The region provided a great opportunity to discover many outdoor activities and sports including equitation, snowboarding and hiking.

She moved from Knowlton at age 17 to study Fashion Marketing at LaSalle College in Montreal where industry judges awarded her team the winner of the graduating class’s final project. Lara went on to complete an internship in New York City before continuing her education studying Marketing at Concordia University.

While attending Concordia she also works part-time as a brand ambassador for Monster Energy and retail associate at Trade Secrets. Her long-term goal is to use her marketing skills to manage a worldwide marketing campaign advocating for the prevention of cruelty to animals.

Lara believes in living life as a daring adventure. Pushing herself outside of her comfort zone will help her realize her dreams. Her dreams include traveling to Africa to volunteer with a wildlife foundation and to experience life in different countries, discovering the beauty and diversity of their cultures.

Lara lives an extremely active lifestyle and greatly values health and fitness. During her free time she is sure to be engaging in some kind of physical activity.

As a proud Canadian Lara believes that we have a responsibility, individually and collectively, to have a positive social impact on the world by being gentle with the environment, kind to animals and compassionate with each other.

Sponsored by: Buffalo Jeans,  Esther Morin, Trade Secrets, Centre Beauté Marquis, IDM landscapes, Le Color Box – Dimitra Vasalos – Professional Hair Colorist, Excavation Vanderzon Inc., Ideal Body, Kristina Argue – Hair extension specialist, Tres Chic Styling – Inside Stylist – Natalia Chkliar, Extreme Extension, Marie Eve – Eye Lash Extension Specialist, Zorah Biocosmetics, Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

While English is my native language, living in Quebec has provided me with a great opportunity to learn and speak French.

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

I inherited a passion for horses from my mother and remember the first time she put me up on the back of a gentle giant named Buddy. I started riding at the age of five and have loved horses ever since. Some of my other interests include healthy living, fitness, and fashion.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

I trained in equitation and show jumping for over fifteen years.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

I participated in many sports throughout the years, but I am most passionate about equitation and snowboarding.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

I’ve been very lucky to have several wonderful role models. Besides my mom, the person that’s had the greatest influence on my life is my riding instructor, the late Captain Wiazowski, lovingly known as Mr. “V”.

He taught me so much more than how to ride. Mr. “V” was tough as nails but had a heart of gold. He never let you quit. If you fell nine times he’d make you try the tenth time.

He taught me to believe in myself and never let anyone or anything get me down. My life is richer for having known him.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

Where else but New York City would a young fashion marketing graduate want to go? I was determined to land a fashion internship in New York and with some hard work and perseverance, I did. I was the only person from my graduating class to complete an internship outside of Canada. I lived on my own in Manhattan and took a big bite out of the Big Apple!

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

I’ll let everyone in on a little secret. I still sleep with my childhood teddy bear, which I have had since I was born.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

I plan to use my marketing knowledge to start a world-wide marketing campaign advocating for the prevention of cruelty to animals. I tailor my studies in school with that goal in mind and keep informed of news and developments in the health, animal and food industries.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job is running an organization focused on preventing cruelty to animals and encouraging people to live a healthy vegetarian or vegan lifestyle.

Are you currently a student?


If yes, where?
Area of study:

Yes, I am currently studying Marketing at Concordia University in Montreal.

Are you currently employed?
If yes, what is your occupation?

I work part-time as a brand ambassador for Monster Energy and retail associate at Trade Secrets.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.  

I was very lucky to grow up in a charming little town in the beautiful Eastern Townships region of Quebec. I am so grateful for my childhood years; I spent summers at a local barn where I learned to care for and ride horses and in the winter I spent my weekends snowboarding. I was always outdoors – camping, biking, swimming, four-wheeling, or building snow forts. I don’t remember a day from where I didn’t think that I was the happiest child ever.  I have so many fun memories of days spent with my family and friends.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

Babysitting isn’t usually thought of as an unusual job. But when you’re a teenager and babysitting for Joe Rogan’s brother, you can be a bit nervous. Especially when you’re not only taking care of two little girls but also having to take care of chickens and collecting their eggs. Thankfully the girls knew what to do!

List any volunteering you have done.

-  Notte in Bianca (fundraiser for cancer research through the Guzzo Environment-Cancer Research Chair of the Université de Montréal in partnership with The Cancer Research Society)

-  Yamaska Women’s Optimist Club (raised money for a new mammogram scanner at our local hospital. I prepared participant thank you bags for the breast cancer walk and helped with logistics.)

-  Yamaska Women’s Optimist Club (raised money for local youth in need.  I prepared and served food at the canteen.)

-  SPCA: (organize and managed bake sales)

-  SPCA: (volunteer for the annual dog walk-a-thon to help dogs find homes)

What is your most unusual talent?

I’m not sure I would consider it a talent exactly, but I can click my tongue extremely loudly. You’ve got to hear it to believe it!

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

I had the opportunity to spend several weeks in Playa del Carmen, Mexico exploring the city and discovering the Mexican culture. I ate amazing new foods, met amazing people and swam with exotic fish. I explored many caves and expanded my knowledge of the Mayan culture.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years? 

In ten years I will continue to conquer the world with perseverance and ambition to succeed in life.  I hope to travel, start a family, and have the career I have always dreamed of having. I hope to continue making an impact on the world.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

I am the most determined and persistent person anyone will ever meet and I always take life head on.