Lidija Vaskovic

20 | Height: 5’11″
Hometown: Ottawa, ON

Lidija Vaskovic was born in Beograd, Serbia and immigrated to Canada with her family when she was just 3 years old. Now she is in her 2nd year at Carleton University working towards her Honors degree in Criminology with a concentration in Sociology.

Lidija strives for excellence, she strongly believes that hard work pays off and believes that any goal can be accomplished if you just set your mind to it – no goal is to big enough.

Family is the most important thing to Lidija, she would not be who she is today without her supporting family. Her parents are her motivation they are the reason why she will be successful because she has such great role models in her life.

Lidija does not take any moment for granted, she is very fortunate to be a Canadian citizen because it has allowed her to be able to fulfill all her goals and dreams which she might of not had the chance to had she not immigrated to Canada.

Lidija finds a love for all sports but is a very competitive person when it comes to basketball. She has played competitive for several years and believes that physical activity makes you a positive and outgoing person.

Lidija is a strong believer in giving back to the community. She has always had such positive role models in her life and by giving back to the community she is returning the favor. Volunteering opens up new and sometimes challenging opportunities that can help you develop new skills and knowledge and really help you grow as person. Lidija believes that you show a sense of appreciation for everything you have by giving back to the community.

Lidija’s number one goal in life is to be able to help others. By aspiring to become a lawyer Lidija feels that she will be able to help individuals with legal troubles and help further the public good. She knows that she will have self-gratification everyday by helping others.

Sponsored by: MN Cars Dealership, Mama Teresa’s Ristorante, Milano’s Pizza, Dr. Branislav Palic Professional Dentistry Corp., Simply Beautiful Bridal Boutique, Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

Native Language: Serbo-croatian Also fluent in: English

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

My interest include traveling, I love being in new places, meeting new people and most definitely trying out new foods. With traveling I experience different cultures and really get to know more of what is around me. I enjoy going to the gym, going out to the movies with my friends and reading fictional books.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

Growing up I have taken piano lessons for several years and folk dancing lessons as well.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

The two main sports I have participated in were basketball and volleyball. When it comes to those two sports I get highly competitive.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why?

The one person that has influenced me the most in my life would have to be my sister. My sister has always been by my side she is truly my inspiration. When my family immigrated to Canada and we finally settled down my parents would go to work very early in the morning my sister was the one who would wake me up, get me ready for school, make me breakfast and walk me to school. Even though she was still young she understood my parents had to go to work and knew that she had to take care of me. At such a young age my sister carried so much responsibility I was her number one priority and I truly thank her for that. I never really understood as a child why my parents had to work so hard and how my sister always took their place when they were not there. Now at 19 I completely understand, they were working hard so my sister and I would not ever have to. I now look at my sister as my role model and as my inspiration for who I want to be and I admire her for everything she has done for me.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

My proudest personal accomplishment would have to be my acceptance to University.  When I first got my acceptance I was thrilled, this was the next phase in my life. The acceptance to university is one step closer to becoming who I want to be, it is taking my goals that I have set for myself and actually being able to fulfill them.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

The most interesting thing about me would have to be that I was alive and in Bosnia the time that there was a civil war going on in Sarajevo. The civil war affected my family very much because a grenade had hit my house in 1995 destroying everything. That is one of the main reasons why we immigrated to Canada.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

My career ambition is to become a lawyer. Currently I am studying Criminology at the University of Carleton. I am halfway through my second year and I am enjoying every bit of it. To accomplish my goal, I plan to apply to law school and further my education.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job in life would have to be opening up my own Law firm.

Are you currently a student?

Yes – I study at Carleton University, Majoring in Criminology with a concentration Sociology, Minor in Law.

Are you currently employed?


If yes, what is your occupation?

I work at Zara in the mens department as a sales associate.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like. 

I was born in Beograd Serbia but I immigrated to Canada with my family at the age of 3 so I was mostly raised in Canada. Even though my parents had absolutely nothing when we first came here, I have so many amazing memories of my childhood. My favorite thing to do as a child was go to the park and to swim. My parents would constantly take me to many different parks and swimming pools in the summer and every weekend we would go to lakes or go hiking. In the winter I remember going skating and tobogganing – Those were the best times I have ever had. For me as a child the best times were always those outdoor activities and just spending time with my parents and sister. When I look back at my childhood I now see that we did not have many things that most families had but my parents truly replaced with their love and devotion to my sister and I.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

Most unusual job would have to be a Coat Check girl at a Lounge.

List any volunteering you have done.

I have volunteered in many high school sporting events, festivals and at a European food store.

What is your most unusual talent?

Double jointed, it allows me to turn my elbow 360 degrees.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to?

The most interesting place I have been to would have to Makarska, Croatia last summer. I spent a couple days in Makarska it is just breath taking. The people are very friendly, the food is amazing, the water is warm and there is constantly something to do. It was truly an enriching experience.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

In ten years I hope to be successful in accomplishing all my goals, start my own family and most importantly to be happy.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

I am very honored to be able to represent Miss Universe Canada and have the chance to represent Canada at a National Level.