Mariya Davydov

23 | Height: 5’6″
Hometown: Montreal, QC

Mariya was born in the Soviet Union and immigrated to Canada when she was six years old. She is of Russian origin but considers Canada her one and only home because most of her childhood was spent here. However, she still perfectly speaks her mother language with her family and friends.

Mariya is a motivated, ambitious and independent young woman. She did figure skating, dancing and ballet before finally finding what she loves the most: singing. Coming from a musical family, both of her parents taught her to play piano.

From a young age, she has been taking vocal lessons and participating in different shows and competitions, winning third place in New York. She also had the chance to travel to Europe and meet other young people that share her passion. She is now singing, acting and dancing in a Montreal musical theater.

She thinks that family is the most important thing, which is why she loves spending quality time with her loved ones. She would rather spend her evenings with her nephew instead of going out.  In her spare time, Mariya enjoys learning new languages, cooking and exercising.

She is extremely thankful for her parents to have brought her here. By becoming a Canadian citizen, she got the chance to study, live in the most peaceful country and have all the necessary things to grow and become a good and happy person.

Sponsored by: Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language). 

English, French, Russian and Spanish

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

My passion is singing. I began singing since a very young age. It alI started when my parents brought me to my first vocal lesson. Since then, I participate in different shows and competitions. I once travelled to Europe for a two week tour with other singers and I also won the third place in a singing competition that was held in New York. When I sing, I forget about my worries and everyday problems. I transform into the song’s character and live its life throughout those short three minutes.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)






In what sports, if any, have you participated?

Figure Skating, rollerblading

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

My grandmother is a hero to me. She is a World War II survivor. She told me an infinite amount of stories that happened to her during that hard time. She lost her parents when she was eight years old and had to survive on her own.  She was starving and had nowhere to live. She taught me to always stay positive, perseverant, courageous and never give up. I learned to be thankful for every single day because life is too short and unpredictable. You never know what might happen in the next hour. This is why instead of focusing on what I do not have, I am thankful for what I do have at that precise moment.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

My proudest accomplishment is when I sang the Canadian national anthem in Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier, the largest concert hall in Canada. I was very nervous and had tears in my eyes when I saw people stand up. At that moment, I felt that Canada has completely become my home and that is has accepted me to be part of such an incredible country. It was a very important and proud moment for me and my family.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

One thing that I will remember my whole life is when I sang for orphan children that lost their parents in Russia during a terrorist attack. We organized their trip to Montreal and prepared a show specifically for them. They were devastated when they arrived. However at the concert, I saw them smile while we were singing for them. I realized how little you need to do to make someone happy. They were clapping their hands, dancing, laughing and hugging me. It was definitely a unique experience in my life.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

I want to help people and take part in making the world a better place. This is why I want to be involved in humanitarian issues that are occurring worldwide. To accomplish that goal, I am participating in the “Miss Universe Canada” because it is a perfect opportunity to raise awareness about different causes that do not leave me indifferent such as breast cancer, bullying, sick children and animal cruelty just to name a few.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job is a job that will make me want to wake up every morning with a smile and an impatience to run to work. It is a job that will also make others happy and improve their lives. I want to inspire people and encourage them to help those that are less fortunate.

Are you currently a student?
If yes, where?

Yes, I am a student in Concordia University and I graduated from Real Estate college of Quebec.

Are you currently employed?
If yes, what is your occupation?

Yes, I work in an Asset Management Company.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.  

I was born in the Soviet Union and I come from a traditional family. There were four of us in the house: my parents, my sister and I. My parents have been together for 32 years now. They are a perfect example of true love. They taught me the real values in life. I had a great childhood where I did not have to worry about anything. My sister and I were inseparable. I was following her everywhere and always took example from her. I was living close by my grandparents’ house as well and I loved sleeping over at their place. My childhood is full of good memories, I cannot complain about anything. I am thankful for the way I was raised and, one day, would love to raise my children the exact same way.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

I was hosting my own show on a local Russian TV channel (RTVC). It was a 30 minute show coming out every weekend about what Montreal has to offer and the activities people can do. It was an interesting job because I chose the places to go to, I met interesting people and had a lot of fun while working at the same time.

List any volunteering you have done.

Hosting various shows for charity organizations

Singing for orphan children

Charity for breast cancer research

Charity for PETA

What is your most unusual talent?

I can take really low notes when singing.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

When I traveled to Europe, I visited Latvia. It is a beautiful country in the Baltic region of Northern Europe. It brings only good memories, because it is the first country where I sang overseas. The Latvians are very welcoming and the architecture is breathtaking. It is different from what I was used to see in North America.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

In ten years, I hope to have a family and be able to multi task it with my career in a field where I would be respected for what I do and where I could achieve my goals. However, for me, family is one of the most important aspects of life. I want to raise my children in the best possible way, just like my parents did with me, and be a mother they would be proud of. Meanwhile, a woman should be able to do all of this without losing her beauty, confidence and sensitiveness.