Sandy Khaled

 22 | Height: 5’9″
Hometown: Montreal, QC

Sandy Khaled is an optimistic, strong willed, committed individual with her eyes set on a fulfilling future. She is currently studying in computer engineering specializing in Avionics and Embedded Systems at Concordia University.

Her biggest challenge is facing the difficulty of challenging herself intellectually and defying gender barriers as being one of the very few women in her field.

Her ultimate career ambition is to join the gaming industry where she hopes to implement her creativity and technical skills to shape the direction of future games.

By being of Lebanese descent and living in North America, Sandy has experienced the complexity of juggling dual cultures while defining her own identity. Although Sandy did not grow up among those of her own culture, her strong ties with her family allowed her to take pride in her background and culture.

She has also chosen to surround herself with diverse friends to expand her knowledge and empathy for other cultures and histories. Her life long friendship with her best friend, who is working in international development, has given her a critical perspective on the political and economic policies surrounding international aid.

Sandy is also a workout enthusiast and feels that staying healthy and active is the best method in living a balanced life. While she is kept in doors at gyms during the winters, Sandy loves to take a run through the Mont-Royal Park in the summertime. When she isn’t busy working out or studying, she loves hanging out with friends and exploring the diversity of Montreal.

Sandy understands that the greatest feeling in life is the ability to give hope, laughter, and love to others. Becoming Miss Universe Canada would be a platform for her to extend aid to charities, helping those in need, guiding them and encouraging them as they journey through sometimes a difficult life. She would also have the benefit as Miss Universe Canada in representing young girls who fear the challenges that life might bring and propel them to tackle those fears. She would love to opportunity to show women that they can do it all, with confidence, intelligence and beauty.

Sponsored by: Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language). 

English, Basic French and Arabic

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

Two of my biggest interests are in computer engineering and gaming. I enjoy tackling complex software and hardware problems at school because I believe in learning and working in a field that I’m passionate about. I’m also an avid gamer and I have started to chronicle the games I play on YouTube. I love to keep people entertained, and I wish to introduce my friends to the gaming experience.

I also love to exercise as I see taking care of my physical and emotional wellbeing as an importance aspect of a balanced life. Exercising is therapy for me, both mind and body; and I love to keep active in order to de-stress for the day.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

I have 5 years of experience playing the violin.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

I look up to my aunt a great deal because she is a great inspiration to how I want to live my life. When her family moved to Canada from Lebanon when she was young, my aunt sacrificed a chance to earn a university degree in order to find work to provide for her family. Since then, she has remained fiercely independent yet deeply caring to her family. With no opportunity to achieve her own goals in life she has encouraged me, helped me, and lead me in the direction to achieve my goals.  Her perseverance and loyalty is what influenced me to continue in my studies and have an optimistic view on life but remaining realistic of my goals.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

My greatest accomplishment is contributing in a year long engineering project that will ultimately be published as a research paper.  Graduating next fall and defying all gender barriers as a woman in engineering will be my proudest accomplishment.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you? 

The most interesting about me is my talent to draw, I’ve never had anyone teach me and never taken any art classes, I just know how to do it.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal? 

My career ambition is to be a Lead Game Designer. I want to eventually lead creative teams to develop my visions of concepts into actual games. I’m currently gaining skills in various programming languages that will enable me to create the games that I wish to design.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job would be to combine my love for engineering and animal rights. I would wish to be part of an international conservation organization and to contribute in designing and providing low cost technology (such as tracking or monitoring devices) to local populations for them to protect endangered animals.

Are you currently a student?


If yes, where? 

Concordia University

Area of study:

Computer Engineering, option: Avionics and Embedded Systems

Are you currently employed?


Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I was raised in Montreal, QC for most of my life. I ultimately left Montreal and moved to the USA for a short time.  At first, I had trouble adjusting because I only spoke French so I had difficulty interacting with other kids and making friends. But I ultimately learned English and gained an interest in engineering in high school through the experiences and support I had in my math classes.

List any volunteering you have done.

Hunger Awareness Week – Brand Ambassador

Light the Night Walk – Event volunteer

Save the Children’s Sudan Emergency Response – Fundraising

Kids Voting USA – Voting booth volunteer

AMIGA – Tutor for children with parents who know limited English

What is your most unusual talent?

Beating the guys in online multiplayer video games!

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

The most interesting place I’ve been is Porquerolles, in south of France. To get there, it takes two hours of driving from Salon-De-Provence and a boat ride. The island fully represents the tranquility and beauty of south of France and I loved that I was able to explore the entire island while biking. Most importantly, Porquerolles holds a special place in my heart because it was a vacation that I took with sister.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years? 

I hope to be on a career track that would allow me to inspire girls to strive for their dreams just as I did, regardless of the barriers that they have to face.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

One very important thing I learned from my mother is how your personality plays a vital role in every aspect of your life. An individual may excel professionally, but if they lack the ability to properly engage with others, they will miss out on the most gratifying things in life.