Siera Torontow

23 | Height: 5’6″
Hometown: Edmonton, AB

Siera is currently in her final semester at MacEwan University, completing her Commerce Degree. In addition to her full time studies, Siera is also a sales representative, marketing health and nutrition products.

Being ambitious and entrepreneurial, Siera has demonstrated her ability to accomplish her scholastic goals while gaining valuable experience in the business community.

Siera was raised in a very active household and was involved in competitive sports throughout her youth. This created awareness of the importance of proper nutrition and exercise.

As the eldest of three, she has not only enjoyed competing in sports but also supporting her brother and sister in their endeavours. Siera continues to expand her education in health and wellness by competing in fitness competitions and pursing her personal training certification.

She has a passion for travel, learning about other cultures and meeting people from around the world. This passion has taken her to over 20 countries. She has backpacked through three continents and was able to visit many amazing places such as, the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, Angkor Wat in Cambodia, and the Wailing Wall in Israel.

Throughout her travels she has witnessed that education comes in many different forms. Although formal education is important, self-education is imperative to living a fulfilled life.

Inspired by the likes of John Maxwell, Jim Rohn and Oprah Winfrey, Siera is planning to pursue a career in motivational speaking. If chosen as Miss Universe Canada, Siera will dedicate her time inspiring others to believe in themselves and to understand that obstacles are simply stepping-stones to achieving your personal goals.

Sponsored by: Century Hospitality Group, Shades of Grey Boutique, Pon Dental, Images and Shades Cosmetics, Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language). 


What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

I have always considered myself adventurous. I really enjoy getting out of my comfort zone, whether that be meeting new people, back packing around the world, sky diving, or riding motorcycles, you can count me in! I love change and challenging myself. If I’m not discovering the world you can find me at the gym, the lake or reading a good book!

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

Currently I am an Advanced Open Water Scuba Diver looking to pursue further advancement. I am CPR and First Aid Certified. I am also working towards getting my personal training certification.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

Throughout my adolescence I played a variety of competitive sports (soccer, ski-racing, various types of dance and track and field). I also participated in many other sports (figure skating, swimming, gymnastics, tennis, snowboarding, wakeboarding, volleyball, slo-pitch, scuba diving and sky diving). I really love being active and participating in any physical activity!

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

When I was 21, for the first time in my life, I met a woman named Christine, who really truly had everything I want; a wonderful understanding of being a strong woman, a passionate and compassionate husband and a successful career. She encouraged me to follow my dreams and stressed that only I can limit myself to things I can achieve. She motivated me but more importantly was honest about how to achieve goals. She told me to surround myself with positive people, give grace and in order to benefit from the fruits of your labour, that you really have to work for it! I will always be thankful that she came into my life and in many ways she directed me on the path I’m on today.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

One of my proudest accomplishments was being able to take my mom to London, England for her 50th birthday. It had always been a dream of hers to go to Wimbledon (she’s a huge tennis fan), and I wanted to be able to do that for her. I worked hard to be able to pay for us to go for one week. She has given me so much in my life and my siblings. I really want to be able to give back to her for the rest of my life. She is a wonderful woman and deserves the very best.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

I think the most interesting thing about me is the fact I am very well traveled at the age of 23. I have backpacked through 15 countries in three continents. I have also visited over 20 countries in the past 8 years. I think I have experienced a variety of cultures, which enables me to have a different perspective on life. I feel very fortunate to live in a country that allows us the freedoms that many people in other places do not have.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

My biggest goal in life is to have a positive impact on as many people as possible; one person can truly make a difference. I would like to turn this goal into a career by pursuing avenues that are directly correlated to helping people. I believe Miss Universe Canada would create an avenue for me to impact young woman in a positive way. I also believe that health and fitness is an important aspect of life and I want to help improve people’s health awareness.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job would be a motivational speaker and author who travels around the world helping people improve the quality of their lives.

Are you currently a student?

Yes, I will be completing my degree this April.

If yes, where?

MacEwan University, in Edmonton AB.

Area of study:

Bachelor of Commerce. I will be obtaining a management major with a focus on interpersonal communication.

Are you currently employed?


If yes, what is your occupation?

I currently sell nutraceutical products, focusing on chronic illness inflammation, weight management and general wellness.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.  

I was born and raised in Edmonton, Alberta. I was blessed to have two loving parents; my dad is a successful, ambitious, charismatic businessman and my mom was a caring, hardworking stay at home mom up until I was 16. I have two younger siblings; my sister, Alexa (20) and my brother, Chase (16). The three of us have a very close bond. I had a wonderful childhood, growing up playing sports, going to the lake on the weekends and being able to go on many family vacations. When I was 16 my parents got divorced but remained committed to raising, caring and supporting us.  I am thankful for my past experiences because they made me who I am today.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had.

When I was 20 I had a job as a Project Manager for an experiential marketing company. Although this is not an unusual job, it was unusual circumstances. At a young age I was given the responsibility for recruiting and selecting promotional agents, producing promotional material and outfits, managing 30+ promotional agents, negotiating with suppliers and preparing work schedules. It was a great experience to be able to learn how to balance a full workload and continue my full-time studies.

List any volunteering you have done.

- Prostate Cancer fundraisers
- Edmonton John Howard Society

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

Definitely the Gili Islands! They’re located in Indonesia about a 2-hour boat ride from Bali. It was the purest place I’ve ever seen. No cars; people get around the island by walking, horse or bicycle. The food is grown locally and fish is caught daily. The water was 30’C and the views were incredible. But the best part was all, the people were truly happy. I was fortunate to spend 3 weeks there with my little sister. If it wasn’t for our visa’s expiring, and craving a hot shower we may have never come home!

What do you hope to be doing in ten years? 

In ten years I hope to have made a difference in many peoples live. I hope to be blessed with my own family and have a flourishing career! I want to continue to search for personal growth and I believe that if I stay true to myself and follow my instincts, many doors will open.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

I feel blessed to have been selected to participate in the Miss Universe Canada Pageant. I believe that the experience will be something that I will cherish forever.