Michaela Rojas

Hometown: Peterborough, ON

Born and raised in Ottawa. The daughter of Hana Hruska and Belmo Rojas. Michaela spent a great deal of her childhood visiting Central America, specifically Costa Rica, where her father is originally from. Her mother on the other hand is from Czech Republic. Michaela feels that having such culturally diverse parents has molded her into a very broad minded individual, who does not apprehend new experiences, rather uses them as ways to increase her repertoire on life. Growing up Michaela enjoyed sports but she was most passionate about running, where she participated in cross-country and track throughout high school.

Currently, Michaela resides in Peterborough where she is majoring in Political Science at Trent University as a second year student. One of Michaela’s most inspirational role models is Shrin Ebadi, who was titled Iran’s first female judge at the early age of twenty-three. Michaela finds Ebadi’s accomplishments, such as founding the Human Right Center in Iran and the One million signatures campaign greatly captivate, and contagious. Both the DHRC and One million signatures campaign strongly advocate for political rights and equality among genders something Michaela feels strongly about and hopes that with her degree in political science will enable her to make a difference in the world. Michaela strongly values her family and hopes that if she is titled Ms. Canada she will use her public platform to build awareness and fundraise for ovarian cancer Canada, an illness her mother just overcame in the past year. Michaela is currently training for her first half-marathon run and hopes to one day run the Boston Marathon.


Ottawa Region Home Inspections, DL Building Materials Inc.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language). 

English, Spanish

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

Running, reading, health & wellness.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.) 

  • Drama & improv lessons at the School of Speech and drama
  • Completed up to grade 4 piano
  • Figure skating lessons at the Minto

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

I took part in my high school’s cross country team and also participated in the Ottawa Lions club throughout high school, as well as competitive swimming for the OYO swim club.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

My grandparents strongly influenced me to work hard and always be grateful of what you have. My grandparents grew up in Czech Republic and left when my mother was just six years old in order for my grandfather to pursue a job opportunity in Canada. At the time neither of my grandparents could speak English very well however my grandfather being the tenacious individual was doing a post doctorate while my grandmother worked at the University of British Columbia, they then moved to Edmonton and both had job placements at the University of Alberta. With that said education has always played an important role in my life.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)? 

My proudest personal accomplishment is placing third out of 225 women in the Run for women run last august. After high school I took a break from running do to reoccurring injuries in my knees and chins, however after spending the summer doing weight training and not overdoing it on my running I was able to run my first race in years without injuries and obtain a new personal record for myself.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you? 

The most interesting thing that is that I’m secretly in love with Kevin Hart.  I think laughter is the best remedy for pain and to overcome the most exhausting challenges in my life I have often turned to comedy to find the optimism in the most unfavourable situations.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal? 

My career ambition is to someday become a  lawyer.  I’m currently enrolled as a Political Science student at Trent University and hope to apply for law school once I’ve finished my Bachelors degree.  I believe hard work and determination will ultimately decide whether or not I achieve this goal.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job is an occupation where I can help promote the well beings of others, I’d love to one day work for a charity or non-profit organization.  However realistically, my dream job would be working for a world renowned law firm and working may way up the ladder.

Are you currently a student?


If yes, where?

Trent University

Area of study:

Political Science

Are you currently employed?


Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like. 

I was born and raised in Ottawa. My childhood was filled with extra curricular activities mostly those related to sports.  I also had a bit of a travel bug and would take every opportunity I had to visit another country.  In grade 10 I did an exchange program and lived in Valencia, Spain for 2 months.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had. 

My most interesting job was when I volunteered at an old age retirement home. It was by far the most rewarding job as it consisted of a lot of one on one work with the residents many of whom were lonely and just needed companionship.  I learned how much giving back to the community could affect my own happiness.  It also gave me insight into the everyday problems of others, and helped me see there was more to life than what meets the eye, that while looks may fade character never does.  Its character that keeps us young at heart and our relationships healthy and sustainable.

List any volunteering you have done.

I volunteered at the Queensway Carleton Hospital throughout high school and have used my talent in running as incentive to fundraise money for charitable organizations, such as run for women, physio Ottawa, and Run or Dye. I’ve also helped raise money for cystic fibrosis through Shinerama.

What is your most unusual talent?

My most unusual talent is that I have an incredibly large imagination and can make up extravagant, outlandish stories on the spot.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

The most interesting place I’ve been to were the volcanos in Costa Rica.   A few summers ago I visited Rincon De La Viega and the view from the top of the crater is probably the most breathtaking sights I’ve ever seen. I’ve been a huge fan of the outdoors since I was little.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years? 

In 10 years I hope to be employed at a law firm in New York City or San Francisco.  I love cosmopolitan cities and both Manhattan and San Francisco have had my heart ever since I visited them.  I find political philosophy fascinating, and I love a great debate! I also want to have an impact on society and I feel being a lawyer would be a very fulfilling occupation.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

I truly believe that one should always love themselves and always be confident in who they are.  Throughout my adolescence I was never labelled as conventionally beautiful and was very far from popular.  This caused a lot of insecurities in me which unfortunately led me to experience severe anxiety in social situations.  However over the recent years I have made great strides at defeating my anxiety and I feel like participating in this pageant will help boost my confidence and hopefully help overcome my anxiety.  I believe everyone deserves to be genuinely happy with themselves and we should learn to love our uniqueness and not constantly strive for some ideal because it is our unconventional quirks and differences that make us special and builds our authenticity.