Height: 5’8″
Hometown: Calgary, AB

Ariet was born in Gog, a village in Ethiopia. She is currently completing her first year in Social Work at Mount Royal University in Calgary. Besides being an emerging Social Worker, she is involved in the community. She plans meetings, host events connected to culture needs and work with young adults in the Anyuak community in Calgary.


Jan Pro Cleaning Systems, Ariet & Dambi’s Investment, Ala Parisienne Clothing Store, Friends and Family

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

English and Anyuak

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

My interests are hosting events, working in my community and I enjoy singing and dancing.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.) 

I only had a little bit of modelling training with Patti Falconer Agency when I signed with her back in 2008.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

I played on a team in high school.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

A friend who I met summer of 2014, he became like my mentor, someone I can ask for advice or just burst into tears in his presence when I am feeling overwhelmed.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)? 

When I Came to Canada 13 years ago, I did not know how to speak English, I had to start school from a zero level. This being said, one of my proudest personal achievement is completing high school and entering postsecondary starting from where I started. Second accomplishment would be running a small cleaning business for my mom and siblings for about three years now.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you? 

In 2008 I decided I wanted to be a model when I was chatting with my high school student counsellor. She opened yellow pages telephone book, wrote down Patti Falconer agency’s phone number and an address, I went there the following Friday and I signed with her. When I was doing my modelling training, I was sent for my first time ever audition and from there I got first Ad job. My poster was posted in a downtown mall and on the city trains, every time my friends see the poster they would just call me or just shout it out “that’s my friend”. It was pretty awesome!! The most interesting thing about is my own perspective of life. I appreciate life, I see each day as an opportunity to better ourselves for improvements. I am a doer and go getter, I work hard for what I really want to achieve in life. One more thing, I do not brag about my achievements and I like to focus on myself, learn from my mistakes and never to envy or have jealous feelings toward other achievers.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal? 

I want to work with the United Nations. I am studying to become a Social Worker right now I am hoping on furthering my education level to be able to achieve this career goal.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

An Advocated as part of UN advocate.

Are you currently a student?


If yes, where?

Mount Royal University Calgary

Area of study:

Social Work

Are you currently employed?


Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

Where I was raised and my childhood life, are what making me the person I am today. I was raised in the happiest home with two most loving parents in a small village in Ethiopia. We lived on a farm with a huge field full of crops and papayas and mangos surrounded the compound. In the front of the compound, there was a canal where bananas, sugar canes and pineapple trees were planted. Each morning, breakfast would either be a papaya, banana or other fruit freshly picked from its tree.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had. 

A job that I forbidden myself from doing ever again is door to door marketing. I did it for about two weeks last summer, and that will be my first and my last.

List any volunteering you have done.

Planning community events and hosting in the Anyuak community in Calgary.

Interpreting Anyuak language for courts or citizenship tests interpreting.

What is your most unusual talent?

My most unusual talent is drawing, I am so bad when it comes to drawing arts.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to?

The most interesting place I have been would be my hometown. The village where I was born, this is a place with the most fertile land that almost can grow any seed inserted in ground. It has two seasons only, the raining season and its driest season, I would say it has the biggest trees in the world.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

In ten years I want to be working with the UN as an advocate.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

Nothing, but I am just excited and grateful for the opportunity.