Amanda Lang

Age: 20 | Height: 5’6″
Hometown: Dublin, ON

Amanda Lang is 20 years old and is from a small town, Dublin Ontario where she grew up with her family. Amanda is the youngest of three kids; she has one brother and one sister. She is family oriented and is extremely close with her family.

Amanda is currently attending Wilfrid Laurier University where she is studying a Bachelor of Arts. She wants to become an elementary school teacher someday who wants to also broaden her teaching experience to underdeveloped countries in order to share the freedom Canadians experience everyday.

In her free time, Amanda loves to be maintain a healthy lifestyle by running and staying active, she also enjoys modeling and acting with an agency she started with in 2009. Travelling is something that Amanda loves to do, wither it is a poverty awareness trip to learn about how people live in other parts of the world, to travelling to Scotland to visit her relatives overseas.

Amanda is a firm believer that anything is possible in life, if you put 100% into your ambitions. Her motto in life is, ‘nothing is impossible,’ and that is the message she wants others to receive throughout her experience with Miss Universe Canada.

Amanda is a very proud Canadian and would be honored to give back to her country that has given so much to her over the past 20 years if titled Miss Universe Canada. Amanda would like to be a voice for those who can’t speak for themselves, but she would also like to focus on the strengths of Canada and the country we have developed into over the past hundreds of years which has brought diversity and multiculturalism into our way of life.

Sponsored by: Scruton Bus Lines, Dublin Merchantile, Dublin’s Lions Club, Deck Dentistry, Hair Couture and Spa, Arbonne, Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).


What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

My interests include modeling, acting, playing soccer, guitar, step dancing, and travelling.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

I have taken Guitar lessons, Step Dancing lessons, and some drama workshops throughout high school.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

I have played soccer, baseball, volleyball and basketball.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

Other than my parents, I would say my brother and sister have had the most influence on my life. I lost my dad when I was 10, my brother and sister have supported me throughout my life and have shown me strength through hard times in life. I wouldn’t be were I am today if it wasn’t for them.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

My proudest accomplishment is getting accepted into university. I see university as a big accomplishment because it is a privilege not everyone gets to experience in other parts of the world, but also in Canada.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

The most interesting thing about me is that I have family in five different countries, which include, Canada, Scotland, Ireland, USA, and Australia. I love having family all around the world as I get to visit them and I love travelling and seeing the world we live in.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

I would like to become an elementary teaching and in order to achieve that I am currently attending university to get my degree. I would also like to travel overseas and teach to those who do not get the education we are blessed to have in Canada. I want to use our blessings we live with everyday in Canada and use them to help others around the world.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job would be a teacher or an actress.

Are you currently a student?

Yes I am currently a student.

If yes, where?

Wilfrid Laurier University

Area of study:

Bachelor of Arts

Are you currently employed?


If yes, what is your occupation?

I currently work at an organic farm.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I was raised in a small town in Western Ontario called Dublin. I have five people in my family with whom I am very close. My dad passed away when I was 10 from cancer. My family and I have supported each other through tough times. I am blessed to have grown up with my family being my best friends. I am very fortunate to have grown up with such a strong mother who has supported my family by herself and has provided for my family and given us a great life in Canada.

List any volunteering you have done.

I have volunteered quite a bit throughout my life. I have volunteered at my local church as a Sunday school teacher. Throughout my high school career I have done a lot of volunteering in order to give back to my school. I was involved with student council for four years, OSAID (Ontario Students Against Impaired Driving) for two years, The Green Team for one year, Peer Pals for four years, and Social Justice for two years. I have also helped out with an annual Pat Cook Run, which is a memorial run to unit different elementary schools to promote oneness. I love giving back to my community, and helping others because I feel like my community gives me so much and giving back is how I show my gratitude.

What is your most unusual talent?

I don’t have an unusual talent but I have a unique talent, which is step dancing.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to?

The most interesting place I have been to is the Dominican Republic. I travelled to the Dominican Republic in high school on a poverty awareness trip on 2011. A group from my high school went to the Dominican Republic to learn about how different the life style is there and to experience living in poverty. I feel like it is important to learn about the different living conditions across the world and I feel it is equally important to bring awareness to Canada so people know the poverty people face everyday.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

In ten years I hope to have a university degree and a good job as a teacher. I would like to experience travelling to a country that is affected by poverty in hopes to change lives.