Claudia Scali

26 | Height: 5’6″
Hometown: Toronto, ON

Claudia Scali was born and raised in Toronto, ON. She comes from a big Italian family that continuously supports and inspires her! She works for a medical device company managing educational programs provided for doctors and nurses across Canada.

Her curiosity for the human body guided Claudia into completing a major in Integrative Biology from the University of Toronto where she received an Honours Bachelor of Science with a second major in French language.

Claudia grew up in a very active family. She is passionate about health, wellness and nutrition. Sports and fitness played a large role in her life and she was always involved in various extracurricular activities.

Claudia spent her childhood dancing competitively as well as swimming, skating, and playing soccer. As she grew up, her love of dance truly developed; she enjoyed the freedom of expression through movement, the friendships she created, and the discipline in practicing and perfecting the art.

In 2009, her love of sports and dance led Claudia to audition for the Toronto Argonauts Cheerleading team. Making the team allowed her to participate in many community events and charities, something she always enjoyed doing. She is proud to be an Argo’s alumni and to have had the honour of representing her city’s CFL team!

At the start of last year, Claudia decided to take her passion for fitness to the next level and began training for a fitness competition. She found inspiration from her little sister, Vanessa, who was born with a physical disability. She started a fundraiser through the Sick Kid’s Foundation to support children with disabilities. Claudia not only continues to challenge herself, but feels proud of her positive contribution to a wonderful cause.

Claudia enjoys volunteering in her community and helping others. Her various endeavours have given her many opportunities to give back to her community and create awareness for meaningful causes. She currently organizes fundraising activities for Operation Smile and SOS Children’s Villages. Some of these include a charity carwash, yoga-thon, gala event and promoting awareness within school communities.

Claudia aspires to be an entrepreneur and have a family one day. She looks forward to continuously challenging herself and pursuing new adventures. She hopes to visit all the Wonders of the World and carry on her exploration of other cultures. Claudia would love to share her passions with others and help inspire children to reach their goals.

Claudia’s different experiences have helped shape the person she is today and she is thankful to her parents for providing her so many opportunities.

Sponsored by: Prochilo Brothers Auto Collision, Tinge Boutique, JMC Legal Services Inc., Maplewood Electric Inc., Certified Equipment Rental LTD., Nanique Interiors, Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language). 

I speak French fluently.  I studied French as part of the immersion program in elementary and high school and completed a second major in French language at the University of Toronto.  I currently work in a bilingual role communicating with native French colleagues and customers.

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

My passion lies in fitness, health and nutrition.  I enjoy working out, playing sports, and being outdoors.

I love to cook and take an interest in exploring healthy ways of making some of my families’ favorite dishes!

In my spare time I enjoy reading and writing.  I keep a blog of my recipes and workouts and like to stay up to date on the latest research in the areas of health and nutrition.

I also love to spend time with friends and family, laugh, dance and travel.  I am interested in exploring new places and immersing myself in various cultures.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.) 

At a young age I was exposed to many different forms of art.  I learned to play piano, participated in drama clubs at school and attended dance classes.

Through these activities, I found my passion was in dance and I continued to explore various dance forms.  I took classes in ballet, acrobatics, jazz, tap, baton, musical theatre, salsa, and hip hop.

I was privileged to be able to take my dance to a competitive level and in 2009, my dance experiences lead to be a part of a professional CFL dance team.  Dance continues to play a large role in my life today and I look forward to exploring new dance forms in the future.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

I grew up in a very active family and I was always involved in various extracurricular activities.  Sports and fitness played a large role in my life and continue to do so today.  Some of the sports I am involved in are:

- Soccer
- Baseball
- Swimming
- Volleyball
- Surfing
- Water skiing
- Downhill skiing
- Ultimate Frisbee
- Skating
- Golf
- Tennis
- Cycling
- Running
- Working out

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

My little sister Vanessa is the most influential person in my life.  Vanessa was born with a physical disability and inspires me to challenge myself every day.

Last year I decided to take my love of fitness to the next level and try competing.  I began to think about how I could put some meaning behind what I was doing. The first thing that came to mind, were the people in my life that faced daily struggles that couldn’t even compare to what I was about to do.

I naturally felt compelled to dedicate this to Vanessa who is the most inspirational person I know.  She tackles any obstacle in her way with such ease and confidence.  I don’t know anyone who could conquer as much as she has and with a smile along the way too!

I started a fundraiser through the Sick Kid’s Foundation to support children with disabilities and I asked my friends and family to support my journey by donating.

This experience taught me so much about myself and it has been truly inspiring and motivating!

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)? 

I am most proud of my dedication to challenge myself everyday and pursue my dreams.  I have always pushed my limits and never gave up on what I was passionate about doing.  Completing my university education, dancing for a professional team, competing in fitness and giving back to my community are all things that I am proud to have accomplished.  I was able to achieve these goals by following my heart and staying true to who I am.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you? 

My love of sports and dance led me to audition for the Toronto Argonauts Cheerleading team in 2009.  I was able to develop into a more confident and professional woman as well as create some lifelong friendships.

This amazing experience taught me so much about myself, especially to always pursue my dreams and never give up.  I thoroughly enjoyed representing the team and was able to participate in many community events and charities which made the job very fulfilling.  I am proud to be an Argo’s alumni and to have had the honor of representing my cities CFL team!

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal? 

My career ambition is to one day own my own business related to Health and Fitness.  I would like to inspire and motivate others to reach their goals.

My studies in Biology ignited my interest in the human body and I went on to graduate with an Honors Bachelor of Science from University of Toronto.  I currently work in the health sector and continue to pursue various endeavors in the fitness industry.

Whatever my future holds, I plan to continuously follow my passions and stay true to myself.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job would be one where I could travel, meet new people, inspire others and bring attention to meaningful causes.  It would be something related to health and fitness where I could share my passion with others and help to inspire them.

Are you currently a student?


Are you currently employed?


If yes, what is your occupation?

I work for a medical device company managing the educational programs provided to doctors and nurses across Canada.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.  

I was born and raised in Toronto, ON.  Coming from Toronto has given me exposure to many cultures and has provided me with a greater appreciation for the world.  I grew up surrounded by a loving family who always encouraged me to do my best and pursue my dreams.  I had the opportunity to participate in many extracurricular activities and visit some amazing parts of Canada and the world!  My close knit family has helped shaped the woman I am today and instilled many important values in me.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had. 

I have had quite a unique variety of jobs in my past.  I was a technician at the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority where I helped monitor and maintain sustainable technologies such as, rainwater harvesting systems, infiltration chambers and permeable pavement projects.  I was also a Quality Assurance Tester for a technology company where I investigated new software releases and designed test cases.

List any volunteering you have done.

Below are a few of the organizations that I am involved with in my professional and in my personal life.  I really enjoy volunteering and I plan to always remain active in my community’s fundraisers.

  1. Sick Kids foundation
  1. Shoppers Drug Mart Weekend to end Women’s Cancers
  1. ShareLife
  1. United Way
  1. Movember
  1. Terry Fox Run
  1. Ontario Federation for Cerebral Palsy
  1. The Santa Clause Parade
  1. Operation Smile
  1. SOS Children’s Villages

What is your most unusual talent?

My friends believe my most unusual talent is that I can tap dance.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

Last summer I had the opportunity to visit 6 small islands along the coast of Greece.  Each one had its own unique beauty and way of life.  I enjoyed exploring the landscapes and discovering the culture.  The authentic Greek cuisine, beaches and people all contributed to making it a memorable experience that I will never forget.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years? 

In ten years, I would like to be a loving wife and mother.  I plan to be an entrepreneur and continue to live an active and healthy lifestyle.  I will consistently challenge myself each day and look for meaningful ways to give back to others.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

The opportunity to compete for Miss Universe Canada is a great honor and privilege.

I have an enormous appreciation for my country and would be proud to represent Canada in such a highly respected pageant.

I would embrace the experience to help children with disabilities across Canada and the world.

Having a younger sister with a physical disability has changed my outlook on life.  It has empowered me to live life to the fullest and overcome any challenge I am presented with.  I would like to empower others and give them the confidence to accomplish all their dreams.

I would be motivated to raise awareness of the hospitals and charities that provide research and care for these children and utilize this opportunity to be a voice for them.

The possibility to make an impact on children across Canada and the world would be a dream come true for me and a truly magical experience!