Stephanie Tusim

Age: 23 | Height: 5’6″
Millgrove, ON

Stephanie is one of the most positive, passionate, and dedicated people you will have the chance to meet. She tremendously thanks her mom for placing her in dance at the age of seven where her passion for dance took flight. She was a competitive dancer for 12 years, performing in jazz, tap, ballet, and lyrical.

Some of Stephanie’s favorite moments in life were spent performing on stage. Currently, Stephanie is teaching at Dancemakerz, where she shares her love for dance with others and inspires children to reach their potential.

In her spare time, she enjoys spending time with family and friends, watching sports, taking long walks, reading, networking, and cooking. Maintaining a happy lifestyle through healthy eating and daily exercise is very important to Stephanie.

Last year, Stephanie’s strong background in dance, outgoing personality, and devotion to fitness allowed her to become a member of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats Cheerleading squad.

This opportunity provided her the chance to perform in front of tens of thousands of fans during nationally televised games. Stephanie became a Ti-Cats ambassador in the community, attending many charitable and corporate events.

The highlight of Stephanie’s season was performing on field at the 100th Grey Cup in Toronto. She will never forget how the Nation of Canada came together to show their support and love for the Canadian Football League.

In 2008, Stephanie was one of the few Canadian tap dancers who qualified to represent Canada at the prestigious World Championships in Germany. This event is the “Olympics” of dance and Stephanie was able to bring home Gold in the adult Formation category and Bronze medal in the adult Solo Division. Standing on the podium, wearing the Gold medal, while the Canadian National Anthem is played and the Canadian flag was raised was one of Stephanie’s most memorable moments in her life. She was never more proud to be Canadian and represent her country.

Stephanie always strives to find the positive in any situation. She is one of the few people who will enjoy every second when it comes to making her dreams come true; Stephanie wants to inspire people to dream big and take action. There’s no sense wasting time on regret; you only end up wasting time that could be spent enjoying life.

Sponsored by: Dancemakerz, Universal Electric, TD Canada Trust, Firehall Dentist, Waterdown Optometric Clinic, Tusim Painting Plus, Tash Boutique – Natasha Grubisic – Independent Stella & Dot Stylist, Branko’s Painting & Decorating LTD., Essence of Nature, Family and Friends.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

I was born in Canada however; I did not know any English when I started school.  I speak English fluently and I also know some Croatian.

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?

My interests include dancing, cheerleading, performing, choreographing dance routines, watching sports (hockey, soccer, tennis, football, and basketball), cooking, spending time with family and friends, taking really long walks, playing bocce, reading, taking fitness classes(zumba, yoga, and step classes), taking part in community events, and keeping my body healthy.

I enjoy dancing the most.  Dancing is the love of my life.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.)

I am trained in jazz, tap, ballet, lyrical, and musical theatre.

In what sports, if any, have you participated in?

I took tennis lessons for a couple years.  I enjoy playing the sport.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your like.  Why?

My cousin Natasha Grubisic is one of the most inspirational people in my life.  She is my confirmation sponsor and always finds the time to be one of my top supporters in life.  She graduated from University and now is a high school teacher. Natasha volunteers her time to take part in extracurricular activities such as coaching basketball.  Furthermore, she is a Croatian school teacher on the weekends.  My cousin is always finding ways to take part and give back to the Hamilton Croatia Community.  Natasha is a very talented bocce player too, reaching the finals two times since the league has started.  She is a wife and an amazing mother.  Basically, she is wonder women because it is truly a wonder how she manages to do it all and stay so grounded and humble.  I love you Natasha. You are such an inspiration.

What is your proudest accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?

In 2008, I was one of the few Canadian tap dancers who qualified to represent Canada at the prestigious World Championships in Germany. This event is the “Olympics” of dance and I was able to bring home Gold in the Adult Formation Category and Bronze medal in the Adult Solo Division. Standing on the podium, wearing the Gold medal, while the Canadian National Anthem was played and the raising of the Canadian flag was one of my most memorable moments in my life. I was never more proud to be Canadian and represent my Country.  It is my proudest accomplishment.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you?

I have a very shy, quiet, and reserved personality but I have a passion for performing.   I love being on stage.  My characteristics don’t really match that of a performer, therefore, that’s what makes me interesting and unique.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal?

My career ambition is teaching dance and inspiring children to reach their potential.  I plan to stay updated about new techniques and methods through attending different teacher conventions.  I plan on getting certified in different areas of dance.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

My dream job is a professional dancer.  I would love to be able to perform as my fulltime job.  I love to be on stage.

Are you currently a student?

No, I graduated from Mohawk College.

Area of study:


Are you currently employed?

Yes, I am employed at Dancemakerz.

If yes, what is your occupation?

I am a dance teacher.

Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.

I was born in Hamilton, Ontario and spent most of my entire childhood growing up in the town of Waterdown.  I lived with my Mom, Dad, younger Brother, and Grandma.  My family background is Croatian and this is the language we spoke at home.  I was very lucky and privileged to have had a wonderful childhood.  I have many cousins my age and there was never a day we weren’t together.  Weekends were spent with family eating good food, drinking, in conversation, and even dancing.  I think we were the loudest family on the street and I loved every minute of it.  When I moved to Waterdown my Mom signed me up for dance and I never looked back.  I loved competing in different Regional dance competitions.   I have the most incredible parents who still continue to love and support unconditionally.  Thank you, Mom and Dad.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had. 

Becoming a Hamilton Tiger Cat Cheerleader is an interesting job and an amazing opportunity.  I get the opportunity to cheer, dance, and perform in front of our amazing fans and watch the football game from the best seats in the house, on the sidelines.  I am honored to be able to attend many charitable and corporate events throughout the season and there is never a dull moment.

List any volunteering you have done.

As a Hamilton Tiger Cat Cheerleader I volunteer my time by attending many charity and corporate events.  For example, I’ve taken part in some golf tournament fundraisers for different causes, become part of different food bank Programs, such as Halton Food for Thought, and attended parades in Hamilton, such as the Dundas Cactus Festival.  I love volunteering and taking part in these community events.  I even had the second highest attendance of events last year among all the girls.

What is your most unusual talent?

I am a bocce player, which is very unusual.  I compete in the Hamilton Croatia Women Bocce league and it’s so much fun.  My team even made it to the finals one year.

Where is the most interesting place you have been too?

The town of Bled in Slovenia is my favorite and interesting place I have been too.  I love small towns and was drawn to this one because it revolves around a lake.  There is even a castle that stands on the top of a steep mountain on one side of the lake.  It is like a fairy tale.  I wish I could have spent more than 1 day there.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years?

I hope to continue teaching because it is a passion of mine that will never go weak.  Also, I wish to have a family of my own.

Is there anything you would like to add that we haven’t asked?

I would like to win the title of Miss Universe Canada so I can have a more influential role in the community.  I want to prove that dreams do come true and give the message to everyone to listen to their own hearts and follow their own dreams not what other people think you should do.