Kesiah PapasinHeight: 5’7″
Hometown: Etobicoke, ON

Kesiah Kathleen Liane Papasin is 23 years old, born and raised in Toronto, Ontario

When she was 13, while attending the 2004 Canadian Model and Talent Convention (CMTC) in Toronto, Kesiah met Natalie Glebova, Miss Universe 2005. She was captured by Miss Glebova’s beauty and determination. Inspired and motivated by her, joining pageants became Kesiah’s passion. She remembers Miss Glebova saying, “You should join pageants and if you lose, try again till you win.” Kesiah has won several awards and titles since.

Kesiah was born with unilateral clubfoot and moderate hearing loss. She had to wear corrective braces for a year and both ears are currently aided. But Kesiah did not let her physical challenges hinder her dreams and goals in life. She registered herself in the Eleanor Fulcher International modelling workshop to improve her self confidence. One can say that Kesiah achieved the purpose of this workshop, her teacher and friends once described her as “social butterfly.”

She took ballet, tap, jazz and modern dance classes. She and her older brother were partners in ballroom dancing lessons, which came to a halt when her brother decided that ballroom dancing was not for him. She also took private lessons in Tahitian dancing. She joined various local swimming competitions till the age of 16. She received gold and silver medals to prove her swimming abilities. In high school, she excelled in sports when she came out first and broke school records in Women High Jump Junior.

Kesiah is currently studying Border Services and Immigration at Humber College, aspiring to be a CBSA Officer or Immigrant Consultant. She worked every summer at a bank to help finance her dreams.

Raised in a close knit and religious family, Kesiah learned at an early age not to be judgemental and stereotype others. She believes in equal opportunity and treatment for everyone. She also believes in sharing her blessings by volunteering in fundraising activities for the underprivileged. She gives them support and respect. She remains a good role model and a proud mentor for aspiring young models.

She loves to travel. She admires the exotic nature of Hawaii, the lifestyle, everlasting arts and culture in Italy, the hospitality and generosity of people in the Philippines, and the clean environment in Australia. Pageantry has taken Kesiah to compete in different countries. Kesiah enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, boat rides and view of the river in Guayaquil, Ecuador. She could not believe how safe it is to hold a big iguana on its tail while having pictures taken. She also enjoyed the modern city of Aachen, Germany. Although she didn’t see much of the country, the Netherlands is the place to see for its beautiful country, masterpieces and tulip fields. Kesiah hopes to have the opportunity to continue travelling and mingling with various peoples and cultures. She hopes to contribute and participate in improving lives and uplifting spirits.

Languages spoken fluently (please include your native language if English is not your native language).

I speak fluent English and I can understand very little Tagalog, Philippine language. I studied Portuguese language but because I have never used it for a long time, I’m not sure if I can communicate with it.

What are your interests and what do you enjoy doing the most?  

Sports – I love swimming; I like to keep myself fit; I like to do cardio exercises. I love music. Listening to music and reading books not only make me relax but also have better use of my imagination, and inspire me.

List any special training you have had (music, art, drama, dance, etc.) 

I studied ballet, tap, jazz, and modern dances at Masaryk Hall when I was 4 years old till I was about 8 years of age.

I studied singing for one year when I was 10 years old.

I attended fashion workshop at Eleanor Fulcher when I was 11 yrs of age for 6months and received certificate upon completion.

In what sports, if any, have you participated?

I competed in swimming from 4 to 16 yrs of age, also track and field and High jump in High school.

Name one person, other than your parents, who has had the most influence on your life. Why? 

It would be difficult to narrow it down to one person. My grandfather also had the most influence in my life. He taught me love, manners   and modesty. My grandparents taught me faith.  I could always count on him.  There were days, I would love to sit with him and have a nice interaction with him.  I always knew everything would be acceptable. He was my #1 fan.

What is your proudest personal accomplishment (other than participating in this pageant)?  

My proudest personal accomplishment would be rearranging my room by myself.  This is my proudest personal accomplishment because I tend to hoard items in my room for its sentimental worth. But I realized it’s time for a new beginning. It was hard to let go of a few items but it was well worth it. To see things through to the end was very difficult.

What is the most interesting or unique thing that has ever happened to you and/or what is the most interesting thing about you? 

The most interesting thing that has ever happened to me, besides standing here, was placing Miss Amistad in Guayaquil, Ecuador which I had to ask around for translation, Miss Friendship/Congeniality. The delegates mostly spoke Spanish. I don’t know how to speak Spanish and yet I was voted Miss Friendship. It was proven then that action still speaks louder.

What is your career ambition and what are you doing or plan to do to accomplish that goal? 

My career ambition is to seek a career with opportunity for productivity and increase my skills and experiences.

What would be your “dream job” in life?

Confucius said, “Find a job you enjoy, and you’ll never work a day in your life.” Dreams come in all shapes and sizes. Waking up in the morning and looking forward to working and helping people, I’d say that is a dream job. For me a dream job is working as an Immigration Officer/Consultant.

Are you currently a student?


If yes, where?

Humber College

Area of study:

Border Services & Immigration

Are you currently employed?


Describe where you were raised and what your childhood was like.  

I was born  and raised in Etobicoke. I wore corrective foot brace for congenital defect when I was  a   year   old.   Growing up   was   fairly insignificant. I came from a big extended family so weekends always felt like a big feast. We did everything together. We went camping, fishing and even shopping together. Friends and other  relatives  refused  to invite my  family  to  a  party because of  the  extension  of  the  family.  I grew up same way as any other kids; playing, singing and dancing lessons, common childhood illness, vaccination and regular visits to the pediatrician.

List any interesting or unusual jobs you may have had. 

Regarding unusual jobs, I remember helping my mother when I was 12 or 13 yrs. old, with her part-time job, writing names, printing papers, and getting paid a buck or 2 for each name or for photocopy.

List any volunteering you have done.

I volunteered for Fiesta Filipino Dance Troupe by teaching the Miss Manila delegates how to walk for the pageant. I also volunteered for IPEN doing same thing. I participated in Toronto fundraising for the Philippines victims of Haiyan typhoon.

What is your most unusual talent?

I can bend the first joints of my fingers on both hands as if I am double jointed like my mother and her sister.

Where is the most interesting place you have been to? 

I was sent to Guayaquil, Ecuador to compete in Miss Continente Americano beauty pageant. People are friendly and hardly anybody smokes especially in public parks, streets, markets and malls. They also advocate biodiversity.

What do you hope to be doing in ten years? 

I will be 33 years old then. I don’t know what I will be doing, but I know I want to work with people. I will be going for a vacation in places I have never   seen before. I see myself having a place of my own.  I am hoping for a stable job and maybe a family of my own.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply